Lent

This is my first time in true Lenten observance, and it has been so sweet. Our church follows the liturgical calendar, and after nearly five years, I have come to very much enjoy the way my inner life has oriented itself around these seasons. Lent has always rubbed me the wrong way, but I felt pressed this year to go all in, observe it, and see what God had for me through submission to this season. My past reasons for not participating in Lent add up to little more than laziness and arrogance disguised as a desire to not participate in religious works to earn God’s favor. But in the present, here are three basic reasons among many why I feel called to Lent.

1. As a show of respect for church tradition. Church traditions are important just way family traditions are: they are binding and identifying forces, and while they shouldn’t be elevated to equal with the Word of God, they are worthwhile.

2. To use the cyclical nature of the liturgical calendar to constantly keep our eyes on the major points of our faith: creation, fall, redemption, restoration. There’s an ultimate expectancy in the Christian faith towards the return of Jesus, and a daily expectancy as we live in one season and look toward the next. The expectant nature of Lent, in particular, is a good reminder of our ultimate expectancy.

3. To identify with Jesus in suffering so that the celebration of Easter is more meaningful. I’m used to trying to think about Easter in the weeks previous, but in reality, sitting in my chair on Easter Sunday trying to drink in the glory of the Resurrection for an hour the entire year. This just isn’t good enough.

I’m working through a daily reading called Journey to the Cross, and I just think it’s excellent. Here’s the link if you care to join in.

Click to access Journey-to-the-Cross.pdf

One thought on “Lent

Leave a comment